The F1 Indian Grand Prix

Sebastian Vettel was victorious once again at the Indian Grand Prix. Facing no challenge in the race Vettel scorched his way to a comfortable victory, and won the race by a comprehensive margin on 9.4 seconds. This is Vettel’s second successive win at the Buddh International Circuit, and the Red Bull driver no has a total of 240 points. This gives him a 13 point lead ahead of Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso. After having done extremely well at the qualifying Vettel’s pole position was expected.

Sebastian Vettel wins the Indian Grand Prix, 2012.

Alonso went from fifth on the grid to second to limit the damage of Vettel winning. It was his 10th podium of the season. The race started with Alonso battling the McLarens on the long straight before getting past Hamilton. After which he overtook Mark Webber, leaving Webber to finish third. Alonso admitted that it was the second best result he could have hoped for. He hopes to match up to Vettel with upgrades to his car expected ahead of the upcoming Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

After Vettel won the Grand Prix all Lewis Hamilton could say was the Adrian Newey was a genius. Newey is Red Bull‘s chief technical officer, who has won championships with three different teams.

McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton dropped a place from his grid position and finished fourth, followed by teammate Jenson Button. Ferrari’s Felipe Massa was sixth while Kimi Raikkonen drove his Lotus home in seventh place. Force India was able to earn four points after Nico Hulkenberg’s eighth-place finish. Di Resta Force India’s other driver came in 12th. The team have now scored points in the last six races. The lone Indian driver on the track, Narain Karthikeyan finished 21st after he had problems with the brakes.

The seven-time world champion, Michael Schumacher suffered a right rear puncture on the first lap after contact with Vergne’s Toro Rosso. He was lapped, under investigation for allegedly ignoring blue flags and then retired due to gearbox concerns. Many of the 62,000 spectators at the Buddh International Circuit were there to cheer on the 43-year-old Mercedes driver, and bid a fond farewell to him as he is retiring at the end of the season.

The second edition of Indian Grand Prix also saw various celebrities from the sports and film fraternity of India. India’s Olympic heroes and Bollywood and cricket stars were at the circuit on race day. Among the sporting stars, wrestler Sushil Kumar, shooters Gagan Narang and Vijay Kumar were spotted. Gagan Narang waved the chequered flag at the end of the race. The shooter was overwhelmed to have been chosen to wave the chequered flag, which was originally supposed to be done by Hrithik Roshan.

The 2012 season has been quite interesting and despite some very random race results at the beginning of the season it took a more intense turn as the season progressed. In the summer especially, six racers were competing for the championship title, but in the past four races Red Bull has been dominant. With only three races left in the season, one cannot be too sure if Vettel will clinch the championship or if Alonso will rise above him.