UEFA Euro 2016: A Game for the Champions


The Union of European Football Associations or UEFA which is one of the six continental confederations of world football governed by FIFA, consisting fifty-four national association members, is the administrative body for association football in partially Asia and Europe. Established in 1955, the 2016 UEFA European Championship which is also being known commonly as UEFA Euro 2016 is the 15th edition of the European championship. It is the international men’s football championship of Europe recurring every four years and currently France is hosting this championship which has commenced from 10th of June, 2016 and the Finals will be on 10th of July, 2016. Having won the 2008 and 2012 editions of UEFA Euro, Spain are the Defending champions. The championship was hosted in a 16 team format since 1996 but for the first time in the history of UEFA, it is being hosted by 24 teams consisting of a group stage where there will be six groups of four teams, which will be followed by a knockout stage including three rounds and the final.

France was chosen to host this championship post winning the bid on 28 May 2010 where they beat Italy and Turkey for being the Hosting nation for the 2016 finals. The first match between France v/s Romania was held in Stade de France , St Denis where the trophy was placed in front of the Basilica of St Denis which is interestingly the first Gothic church. Overall 10 cities from Paris to Marseille will be hosting these glorious matches.


Victors of the match previously


Participating teams Real Madrid, Bayern Munich, Ajax, Milan, Liverpool and Barcelona were the privileged teams to win the multiple-winner badge for winning the UEFA Champions League three times in a row, or five times overall. 22 clubs, in total, have the honor of winning the championship and European cup in which Real Madrid have recorded the most victories ,having won the championship 11 times and also have the record of being the multiple winner badge for winning the championship 5 times in a row from 1956-1960.  Juventus have lost six finals and have the record of being runners-up for most times. Following the ‘Heysel disaster’, the English teams were banned from the UEFA competition for five years. Real Madrid is the current champions beating Atlético Madrid in 2016.


Let the match begin


The Championship initiated with a stunning victory from France over Romania with a score of 2-1 followed by the victories of Switzerland over Albania (1-0) , Wales over Slovakia (2-1) and a tie between England and Russia (1-1). Croatia(1-0) and Poland (1-0) have also outshone Turkey and Northern Ireland respectively. As in the words of  Perišić who was being optimistic for his team to win the tournament  stated that this has been the best Croatian team in years. Apart from this Poland have claimed their first Euro victory, in the seventh attempt, against Northern Ireland with a score 1-0.

On a final note, The UEFA 2016 is going to be a huge gathering of the football lovers throughout the world and that can be sensed eventually as the tournament is in progress. The official ball “Beau Jeu” for the match was revealed by  Zinedine Zidane former France player on November 12th 2015. Also, the official Mascot “Super Victor” who is a child superhero in the France national Football team was inaugurated on November 18th 2014.

“’Le Rendez-Vous’ – The appointment , which is the official slogan for Euro 2016 is not just a reminder of the dates and venues but an invitation throughout the world for the football lovers to come and meet and share the glorious tournament “ says Jacques Lambert, chairman of Euro 2016 Organizing committee.

Leave a Reply